Facebook  Twitter  Linkedin  YouTube
Friday , 24 May 2024

Small Airports

Airports Authority of India (AAI) has undertaken construction of small airports at five locations during 2014- 2015. These five locations are: Hubli and Belgaum in Karnataka, Kishangarh in Rajasthan, Jharsuguda in Odisha and Tezu in Arunachal Pradesh. A Task Force under the Chairmanship of Joint Secretary, Ministry of Civil Aviation has been constituted for identification of other locations based on certain broad criteria such as, minimum population of 10 lakhs, tourism potential, commercial viability, details of the flight movements in the past, social obligations etc. According to Minister of State for Civil Aviation, Dr. Mahesh Sharma, the the Government is open to private participation in the process of providing regional and remote area connectivity to Tier-II and Tier-III cities through construction of small airports across the country.

Share with: